Guidance & Strategy•1 min read

CAPF AC 2027 Complete Guide: Latest Updates, Physical Test, Coaching Institutes, Test Series & Interview

Prepare CAPF AC 2027 with official dates, physical-test tables and interview stages, plus Khan Global Studies, StudyIQ, AchieveCAPF and CivilsTap course options.

CAPF AC 2027 Complete Guide: Latest Updates, Physical Test, Coaching Institutes, Test Series & Interview

Hello, CAPF aspirants! I’m Runal Naik. UPSC CAPF recruits Assistant Commandants for the central armed police forces. Selection combines two written papers, qualifying physical tests, an interview and medical checks. Prepare Paper II and fitness alongside General Studies; clearing an objective mock alone is not enough.

Latest CAPF updates and 2027 dates

The UPSC Annual Calendar 2027 schedules these dates. UPSC may revise its calendar; the examination notification will provide the detailed eligibility and vacancy rules.

Event

2027 date

Notification

17 February

Apply by

9 March

Written exam

4 July

For candidates in the current 2026 selection: SSB’s 1 October notice says PST/PET begins from 13 October. A printed copy of the finally submitted Detailed Application Form is essential. Candidates having difficulty downloading their DAF should contact UPSC. Check your individual call-up instructions through the official SSB recruitment notices.

CAPF AC eligibility and career route

Assistant Commandant is an officer role in BSF, CRPF, CISF, ITBP or SSB, subject to the notified vacancies and allocation. These are central armed police forces under the Ministry of Home Affairs; CAPF is a different route from Army, Navy and Air Force officer entries.

The rules below use the latest CAPF examination notification as the preparation reference.

  • Qualification: a recognised bachelor’s degree or equivalent. Final-year applicants must supply the required completion evidence within the prescribed period.

  • Age: normally at least 20 and below 25 on the notified reference date. SC/ST relaxation is five years and OBC relaxation three years; other notified relaxations have their own conditions.

  • Nationality: Indian citizenship is the usual route; the notice specifies the Nepal/Bhutan exception and rules requiring Central Government consent.

  • Men and women: both may apply, subject to the applicable physical and medical standards.

  • NCC: a B or C certificate is desirable and considered at interview; it is not an essential application qualification.

  • Repeat selection: candidates already finally selected as Assistant Commandant through an earlier CAPF examination cannot reappear through this examination.

For a graduate military-officer alternative, compare the qualification and academy routes in our CDS complete guide. CAPF’s physical tests and interview should not be confused with the CDS SSB process.

Written exam pattern and syllabus

Paper

Marks

Time

I:
Objective

250

2 hours

II:
Descriptive

200

3 hours

Written
total

450

Two
papers

Interview

150

As
scheduled

  • Paper I: General Ability and Intelligence, covering reasoning, numerical ability, science, current events, polity, economy, history and geography. Questions are set in Hindi and English.

  • Negative marking: a wrong objective answer loses one-third of the marks assigned to that question. An unanswered question has no penalty.

  • Paper II Part A: essays, 80 marks, may be written in Hindi or English. Prepare security, human rights, governance, history and socio-economic themes.

  • Paper II Part B: comprehension, précis, counterarguments and language skills, 120 marks, must be attempted in English.

  • Qualification: UPSC sets the qualifying standards; Paper II is evaluated only for candidates meeting Paper I’s minimum.

Use UPSC’s previous papers for the actual question demands. Practise handwritten Paper II answers under the three-hour limit, then review structure, relevance, language and time spent on each task.

Physical standards: height, chest and weight

Item

Men

Women

Height

165 cm

157 cm

Chest

81 cm
Expand:
5 cm

N/A

Min.
weight

50 kg

46 kg

These are the latest notice’s basic physical standards. Its height-and-age weight chart and detailed medical requirements also apply. Minimum weight alone does not establish medical fitness.

Physical Efficiency Test requirements

Event

Men

Women

100 m

16 sec

18 sec

800 m

3 min
45 sec

4 min
45 sec

Long
jump

3.5 m
3 chances

3 m
3 chances

Shot
put
(7.26 kg)

4.5 m
3 chances

N/A

  • PST and PET are qualifying stages; they do not add marks to the written-plus-interview merit total.

  • The notice’s long-jump rule requires clearing the prescribed landing length; touching its boundary does not qualify.

  • Track timings on a measured distance and practise consistently, allowing recovery between demanding sessions.

  • For injuries, pregnancy or medical conditions, follow qualified medical advice and the notification’s specific medical/PET provisions.

Interview, medical examination and final merit

  1. Qualify the written examination and complete the required application/document stage.

  2. Meet the physical standards and pass PET.

  3. Attend UPSC’s Interview/Personality Test, worth 150 marks.

  4. Under the latest scheme, medical standards tests follow participation in the interview. Follow the designated authority’s instructions for medical review where applicable.

  5. Final merit combines written marks and interview marks, subject to eligibility, medical fitness, preferences and vacancies.

Prepare truthful examples of responsibility, teamwork and decision-making. Read about the forces’ roles, internal security, border management and your graduation subject. A CAPF interview is not the multi-day SSB assessment used for military entries.

Four coaching options for CAPF preparation

Coaching is optional. AcademyCheck can help you compare course scope and support. The research below focuses on the providers’ published CAPF offerings; choose the format that solves your weakest preparation area.

Khan Global Studies

  • Course fit: its 2027 CAPF foundation batch lists live/recorded bilingual teaching, both papers, doubt sessions and interview guidance.

  • Faculty: S.K. Alam - Geography; Ishant Maurya - Polity. Their provider profiles do not state individual teaching tenure.

  • Access check: the page gives both a 29 June 2027 expiry and a general 12-month validity label. Obtain written confirmation that access covers the 4 July exam.

Explore Khan Global Studies’ Patna profile on AcademyCheck. Branch details are separate from the online batch.

StudyIQ

  • Course fit: its CAPF course lists live/recorded classes, practice questions, mocks and Paper II preparation.

  • Faculty: Sharad Mudgal - CAPF specialist and mentor; individual teaching tenure is not stated on the course page.

  • Check: its displayed batch is labelled 2026. Confirm the target attempt and access period before purchasing; ask for an evaluated essay sample.

Explore StudyIQ’s Gurugram profile on AcademyCheck. Confirm the specific CAPF product’s inclusions separately.

AchieveCAPF

  • Current 2027 products: the official catalogue lists Paper II Foundation 2027 at ₹7,999 and Yudh Abhyas 2027, a five-month writing batch, at ₹4,999.

  • Published teacher evidence: the checked catalogue names Aman Pal (CAPF 2025 AIR 73) for an older 2025 Yudh Abhyas batch, but it does not identify the assigned teacher or evaluator for either current 2027 Paper II product.

  • Evaluation entitlement: the public listing does not state how many scripts receive individual review or show a current corrected-answer sample. Confirm the assigned evaluator, submission count and feedback turnaround before purchase.

CivilsTap

  • Published scope: its defence-course overview advertises live and recorded classes, study material, topic-wise, sectional and full-length tests, and CAPF preparation.

  • Disclosure gap: the checked CAPF overview does not name the current Paper II teacher/evaluator or state a guaranteed number of individually evaluated scripts.

  • Fitness boundary: the site mentions physical-test guidance, but that is not evidence of supervised on-ground fitness training. Confirm the named faculty, a corrected Paper II sample and any physical-practice arrangement separately.

Online courses, test series and a practical study plan

KGS, StudyIQ, AchieveCAPF and CivilsTap offer online CAPF preparation formats. A strong test series needs both objective analysis and assessed descriptive work.

  • Compare Paper I mocks against the two-hour, 250-mark scheme and correct negative marking.

  • Ask how many complete Paper II scripts receive individual feedback, and how quickly corrections arrive.

  • Watch a normal subject lesson and examine a corrected essay before enrolling.

  • Check language, recordings, access expiry, device rules, complete price and interview inclusions.

Study one GS topic daily, revise current affairs, practise English and complete timed writing regularly. Add a weekly objective mock and a Paper II practice session. Track fitness separately so written preparation does not displace it. If you are also considering an Air Force route, read our AFCAT guide before buying a shared defence bundle.

Application checklist

  1. Read the examination notification and register through UPSC’s application portal.

  2. Complete account creation, URN, Common Application Form and the examination-specific module.

  3. Prepare age, qualification, identity and applicable category/NCC evidence, plus the photograph and signatures required by the portal.

  4. Review every field before submission. The latest scheme does not permit application-field corrections after submission.

  5. Pay the applicable fee and retain the final acknowledgement. The latest notice specifies ₹200, with female, SC and ST candidates exempt.

Frequently asked questions

Is CAPF AC available after Class 12?

It requires the notified graduate qualification. School students can explore the separate NDA route.

Is CAPF AC an SSB interview examination?

No. It has UPSC’s Interview/Personality Test, alongside qualifying physical stages and medical standards.

Can Hindi-medium students attempt Paper II?

The essay part allows Hindi or English. Comprehension and the other Part B language tasks must be attempted in English.

Do women need to complete shot put?

The latest PET table requires shot put for men; women have the listed running and long-jump events.

Does passing PET guarantee appointment?

No. Interview marks, medical fitness, eligibility, final merit and available vacancies still matter.

Summary and what next?

Plan around 4 July, prepare both written papers and begin fitness work early. Measure your present running/jump performance, attempt a previous paper and choose support based on the gap you need to close. AcademyCheck Student Support: +91-8062179896. Institutes can share factual corrections with the article link on WhatsApp 8287604941. Wishing you steady preparation and a confident CAPF selection journey!

Enjoyed this story?

Share it with your fellow students and colleagues.

R

Written By

Runal Naik

Runal Naik is an Education Research Writer at AcademyCheck with degrees in Mechanical Engineering, Economics, and Law. He works as a Consultant at Deloitte and previously worked at Morningstar. He has also prepared for competitive examinations including UPSC and CDS, and reached the final interview stage of the SEBI. At AcademyCheck, he applies his research and analytical experience to create reliable, student-focused education content.