Guidance & Strategy•1 min read

NIFT Entrance Exam 2027 Complete Guide: Latest Updates, Courses, Coaching Institutes, Test Series & Admission Process

See the NIFTEE-2027 schedule, route-specific fees and application steps, alongside programme guidance and preparation options from BRDS, SILICA Institute, Pahal Design and Creative Edge.

NIFT Entrance Exam 2027 Complete Guide: Latest Updates, Courses, Coaching Institutes, Test Series & Admission Process

Hello students! I'm Runal Naik from AcademyCheck. Preparing for NIFT starts with choosing the right course: B.Des needs creative work alongside aptitude, while B.F. Tech follows a different testing route. This guide brings together the admission basics, four coaching options and a practical way to organise your preparation.

NIFT 2027 updates and admission routes

NIFT 2027 is proposed for 10 January 2027 in NTA's NIFTEE-2027 Information Bulletin. The bulletin labels the application schedule tentative. Follow the official NIFTEE portal for the admission bulletin, registration and any schedule changes.

The regular programmes include four-year B.Des and B.F. Tech degrees and two-year M.Des, M.F.M and M.F. Tech degrees. B.Des specialisations include Fashion Design, Fashion Communication, Accessory Design, Textile Design, Knitwear Design, Leather Design and Fashion Interiors. Availability differs by campus.

Choose the programme before buying books or coaching. A drawing-heavy B.Des course does not automatically provide the complete B.F. Tech preparation you need. Applicants considering lateral entry, artisan or overseas routes should use their separate admission provisions.

Who can apply?

The regular-course qualification routes in the NIFT Admissions Guidelines 2027 include:

Programme

Qualification route

B.Des

Recognised Class 12 qualification; eligible equivalent and diploma routes also exist.

B.F. Tech

Class 12 with Mathematics, or an eligible engineering-diploma/equivalent route.

M.Des /
M.F.M

Recognised undergraduate degree, or a qualifying three-year NIFT/NID undergraduate diploma.

M.F. Tech

Eligible B.F. Tech or recognised B.E./B. Tech qualification.

For regular undergraduate admission, the baseline upper age is below 24 on 1 August of the admission year, with five years' relaxation for SC, ST and PwD candidates. Regular master's programmes have no age limit. Appearing candidates must meet the prescribed qualification-proof requirements.

Understand CAT, GAT and the next stage

The NIFTEE-2027 Information Bulletin distinguishes the papers by programme:

Programme

Written-test baseline

B.Des

GAT: 100 questions, two hours. CAT: three hours.

B.F. Tech

GAT: 150 questions across Sections A and B, three hours.

M.Des

GAT: 120 questions, two hours. CAT: three hours.

M.F.M /
M.F. Tech

GAT: 150 questions, three hours.

GAT is computer based; CAT is paper based. In the NIFTEE-2027 Information Bulletin, objective questions carry +1 for a correct response and -0.25 for a wrong response.

  • B.Des: CAT 50%, GAT 30%, Situation Test 20%.

  • B.F. Tech: GAT Section A 30%, Section B 70%.

  • M.Des: CAT 40%, GAT 30%, Personal Interview 30%.

  • M.F.M / M.F. Tech: GAT 70%, Personal Interview 30%.

GAT covers language, quantitative ability, reasoning and general knowledge/current affairs, with programme-specific case-study content. CAT assesses observation, design ideas, colour and illustration. The B.Des Situation Test assesses material handling and model construction.

Programme-to-test-to-next-stage map

  • B.Des: prepare GAT and CAT; after the written stage, plan for the B.Des Situation Test before counselling and seat allocation.

  • B.F. Tech: prepare the GAT sections specified for the programme; confirm the current notice’s result, preference, counselling and reporting steps rather than adding B.Des CAT practice automatically.

  • M.Des: prepare CAT and GAT, then plan for the Personal Interview. A B.Des drawing plan alone does not cover the full M.Des route.

  • M.F.M and M.F. Tech: prepare the stated GAT route and Personal Interview requirements, then follow the programme-specific counselling instructions.

Illustrative design-feedback example: a student’s timed B.Des CAT composition communicates the main idea, but the figures are crowded and the proportions change between objects. A reviewer could mark “concept readable, spacing and proportion to repair”; the next task would be one quick layout drill, two proportion studies and a second timed composition. This is a planning example, not a reviewed provider assignment or an official scoring rule.

Application and admit-card checklist

  1. Choose your route (regular UG/PG/NLEA, Artisan, PhD or NRI/foreign/OCI/PIO/SAARC UG/PG) and check the current 2027 eligibility guidelines.

  2. Register through the NTA form for the route you selected; NRI/foreign/OCI/PIO/SAARC UG/PG applicants follow NIFT’s separate process.

  3. Enter programme, exam-city and qualification details as required; review the route-specific schedule before submitting.

  4. Upload the required live photograph and scanned photograph/signature, plus any applicable PwD/PwBD or route-specific certificate.

  5. Download the admit card when released and follow the latest venue, reporting-time and document instructions.

  6. Check your route and fee in the NTA NIFTEE portal, then download and save the confirmation page.

NIFTEE 2027 schedule and fees (dates tentative): Regular UG/PG/NLEA applications opened 16 October; apply by 16 November, or by 21 November with an additional ₹5,000 late fee. Corrections run 22–25 November. Advance city intimation is scheduled for 21 December; the 10 January 2027 exam date is tentative. Artisan and PhD have separate NTA schedules through 31 January, with corrections 1–4 February. NRI/foreign/OCI/PIO/SAARC UG/PG applicants follow NIFT’s separate 2027 route. The bulletin lists one programme at ₹2,000 (Open/Open-EWS/OBC-NCL) or ₹500 (SC/ST/PwD/PwBD), and two programmes at ₹3,000 or ₹750 respectively; the NRI/foreign/OCI/PIO/SAARC UG/PG fee is ₹11,100. Gateway charges and taxes may apply; the bulletin does not specify an Artisan fee.

Keep a document folder ready: qualification records, date-of-birth proof, identification and applicable category/disability certificates. Store the application confirmation separately from coaching receipts so that the two processes remain clear.

Offline and online NIFT coaching options

Coaching is optional. It can help when you need regular drawing feedback, a study timetable or guided aptitude practice. The four options below offer different formats; the order is a shortlist, not a quality ranking.

All four linked AcademyCheck profiles (BRDS Gopalpura, SILICA Preet Vihar, Pahal Design Noida and Creative Edge Jaipur) currently show 0 reviews, so there is no AcademyCheck review score for this shortlist. Choose by your target programme and use a current class or drawing-feedback sample to check the fit.

BRDS

BRDS offers 2027-2028 offline, live online and hybrid NIFT preparation, with separate programmes for foundation learners, Class 12/passed applicants and postgraduate candidates, plus regular, weekend and crash formats. The BRDS Gopalpura, Jaipur profile lists NIFT preparation and an offline 2027-2028 NIFT Situation Test course.

  • Useful fit: students wanting a classroom option alongside a programme-specific preparation route.

  • Dr Bhanwar Rathore - 20 years in design education, provider-reported - Director/design educator. This is leadership experience, not confirmation that he teaches your batch.

  • Amarjeet Rathore - numeric experience not disclosed - NIFT alumnus on BRDS's faculty roster; the page does not specify an assigned CAT/GAT subject.

  • Drawing sample: the BRDS 2020 CAT solution lesson starts with a light rough layout and demonstrates a composition while highlighting perspective, proportion and presentation. Use this historical question for skill practice, rather than as a prediction of the next paper.

  • For a B.F. Tech shortlist, compare aptitude and case-study coverage separately from the drawing programme.

SILICA Institute

SILICA's 2027/2028 brochure offers classroom lectures, live online lectures and an online learning app accessible throughout the course. The formats can suit students who want a regular schedule with additional practice between classes.

The AcademyCheck SILICA currently lists an online option. Use the listing's actual mode when comparing it with a physical centre; a location in the profile name does not establish classroom availability.

  • Faculty disclosure: the course page describes alumni faculty but does not name your assigned CAT/GAT teachers or their experience.

  • Drawing sample: SILICA's nine-minute perspective lesson builds a room around a child's eye level, then constructs a table and chair using a vanishing point and guide lines. It is labelled for UCEED; the drawing skill is relevant to NIFT CAT practice, but the video is not a NIFT paper walkthrough.

Pahal Design

Pahal's online programme lists live and recorded lectures, printed/digital material, tests, PYQ discussions and doubt support. NIFT formats include a one-year regular course and shorter crash options.

School-going students can compare its weekend structure with weekday learning. For a classroom shortlist, the Pahal Design lists NIFT preparation. Its listed UCEED course is a separate product, so compare the exam-specific syllabus before enrolling.

  • Shiv Shankar Singh - 15 years of teaching, provider-reported - Drawing and design fundamentals.

  • Harshit Srivastava - over four years of industry experience, provider-reported - Product-design mentor. Industry experience is different from teaching tenure.

  • Ravinder Singh - numeric experience not disclosed - Mathematics teacher identified in Pahal's published 2026 NIFT class; confirm the assigned teacher for your new batch.

  • Class sample: the NIFT marathon's mathematics segment uses a handwritten worked example with cost price set to 100, selling price and discount calculations before a quantity-offer question. This shows the explanation format; it does not establish every teacher's pace or doubt support.

Creative Edge

Creative Edge lists distinct NIFT 2027 weekday, weekend and dropper batches, alongside recorded self-learning options. The live formats list study material and mentorship; some batch cards also include doubt clearing.

For independent learning, AcademyCheck lists an English-only Creative Edge self-learning course covering NIFT and other design examinations. Compare its recorded format with the live NIFT batch you are considering; the products serve different scheduling needs.

  • Rajendra Bhatia - 28+ years, provider-reported - Drawing/design expert and chief academic mentor.

  • Abhishek Pandey - 10+ years, provider-reported - Aptitude and higher mathematics.

  • Muskaan Mulchandani - 10+ years, provider-reported - General awareness and verbal ability. The provider's published team is not a guarantee of individual batch allocation.

  • Class sample: its NIFT 2027 verbal-ability crash lesson separates reading-comprehension question types and explains reading questions first to target relevant areas of the passage. This is a nineteen-minute subject lesson, rather than a course introduction.

Before choosing a batch, request one actual drawing correction and an aptitude-class sample. Check the assigned teacher, language, recording-access end date and whether Situation Test support is included. A combined design course needs a clear NIFT study allocation.

For a wider shortlist, read AcademyCheck’s NIFT online-coaching comparison. Compare drawing feedback, GAT coverage, Situation Test support and access validity for the exact programme you plan to take.

Test series and a study plan that produces useful feedback

Match a mock to your programme's question count, duration and marking. For CAT practice, seek feedback on your idea, composition, observation and execution. A numerical score alone gives little direction for the next drawing.

  • Start: attempt a diagnostic aptitude paper and two timed creative tasks. Record the specific skills that need work.

  • Build a weekly routine: alternate drawing/visualisation with language, mathematics and reasoning practice. Keep a short current-affairs revision slot.

  • Review each mock: sort errors into concept gaps, missed details, time pressure and guesses. Redo the relevant task after revision.

  • Practise finishing: work within the paper's time limit instead of repeatedly polishing untimed drawings.

From result to admission

Prepare campus/course preferences using the official seat matrix, course content and living costs. A written-stage shortlist is different from final admission; complete the applicable next stage, document verification, seat-allocation and reporting requirements.

Older cutoffs can help organise preferences when the programme and category match. They cannot guarantee a seat. Keep your preference order based on courses you would actually accept, and save each allotment/payment acknowledgement.

Frequently asked questions

Can students from Arts or Commerce prepare for B.Des?

Yes. The regular B.Des baseline accepts a recognised Class 12 qualification without restricting applicants to Science.

Is B.F. Tech preparation the same as B.Des preparation?

No. B.F. Tech uses its GAT route; B.Des also requires creative work and the Situation Test. Buy material for your chosen programme.

Is coaching compulsory?

No. Self-study is possible. Coaching is useful when its teaching, drawing feedback and schedule address your actual preparation gaps.

Should I buy a test series before a full course?

A diagnostic test can identify what support you need. Compare solutions and creative-feedback quality before committing to a larger package.

Does an entrance rank confirm admission?

Admission also depends on the applicable further stage, eligibility, preferences, available seats and completion of the official formalities.

Choose your programme, check its qualification route and practise the correct papers. Compare BRDS, SILICA Institute, Pahal Design and Creative Edge by the learning format and feedback you need. Begin with a diagnostic task, then build a weekly review habit.

For help comparing a NIFT batch, contact AcademyCheck: Student Support 9958077034; Academy Support 9958077034. You can also follow AcademyCheck on StudySpace.

Note: If any coaching institute finds their details to be incorrect, please accept our apologies. You can share the correct information along with the blog link on our WhatsApp number: 9958077034.

Wishing you clear ideas and steady progress with your preparation!

Enjoyed this story?

Share it with your fellow students and colleagues.

R

Written By

Runal Naik

Runal Naik is an Education Research Writer at AcademyCheck with degrees in Mechanical Engineering, Economics, and Law. He works as a Consultant at Deloitte and previously worked at Morningstar. He has also prepared for competitive examinations including UPSC and CDS, and reached the final interview stage of the SEBI. At AcademyCheck, he applies his research and analytical experience to create reliable, student-focused education content.