Guidance & Strategy•1 min read

UGC NET 2027 Complete Guide: Latest Updates, JRF, Coaching Institutes, Test Series & Cut Off

Understand UGC NET eligibility, JRF, both papers and cutoffs, with Unacademy, JRFAdda, Testbook and Adda247 online preparation options.

UGC NET 2027 Complete Guide: Latest Updates, JRF, Coaching Institutes, Test Series & Cut Off

Hello aspirants! I’m Runal from AcademyCheck. UGC NET can qualify you for Junior Research Fellowship (JRF), Assistant Professor eligibility or PhD admission, depending on your result category and qualification route. Start by choosing your subject and checking eligibility, then prepare both Paper I and Paper II.

Latest UGC NET updates and 2027 planning

The official site has published June 2026 results, subject/category cutoffs and e-certificates. Qualified candidates can open the June 2026 certificate link on the official UGC NET website, download the certificate and check the outcome printed on it. For download difficulties, the certificate notice gives ugcnet@nta.ac.in and ecertificate@nta.ac.in.

NTA has not announced the 2027 application or examination schedule. The rules below use its latest June 2026 bulletin as the preparation reference; use the eventual attempt’s notification for final dates, fees and eligibility.

What do NET, JRF and PhD-only qualification mean?

NTA conducts UGC NET on behalf of UGC. It is an eligibility examination, not an appointment letter. For the usual Master’s-degree route, the three result categories have different benefits:

Outcome

What it permits

JRF + NET

JRF, Assistant Professor eligibility and PhD admission

NET
without
JRF

Assistant Professor eligibility and PhD admission

PhD only

PhD admission; no JRF or Assistant Professor eligibility

For the second and third categories, PhD admission uses 70% NET marks and 30% interview/viva marks, and the NET marks are valid for PhD admission for one year from the result declaration. Universities still apply their admission requirements.

A JRF offer is valid for three years from the award-letter date. Fellowship support depends on joining an eligible research institution and meeting the applicable conditions. It is separate from recruitment to a teaching post.

Eligibility, subject choice and age limit

  • Master’s route: General/Unreserved and General-EWS candidates need at least 55% without rounding. OBC-NCL, SC, ST, PwD/PwBD and third-gender candidates need at least 50%.

  • Final-year Master’s candidates: provisional participation is allowed. The latest bulletin requires completion with the prescribed marks within two years of the result for JRF/Assistant Professor eligibility, or within one year for PhD-only qualification.

  • Four-year Bachelor’s route: at least 75%, with the specified five-percentage-point relaxation for eligible categories. This route permits JRF/PhD eligibility, not Assistant Professor eligibility on the strength of that Bachelor’s qualification.

  • Subject: Master’s candidates should ordinarily choose their postgraduate subject. A related subject can be chosen when it is absent from the NET list. Four-year Bachelor’s candidates can choose the subject in which they want to pursue a PhD.

  • JRF age: the latest rule is not more than 30 on the first day of the month in which the examination concludes. Up to five years’ relaxation applies to women and specified reserved categories. Research experience, LLM and armed-forces service have separate conditions; total relaxation cannot exceed five years.

  • Assistant Professor/PhD only: no upper age limit for applying to these NET outcomes.

Check the degree, category and provisional-candidature conditions in the official information bulletin. OBC-NCL eligibility uses the Central List; a State-list entry alone is insufficient.

Paper I, Paper II and the syllabus

Paper

Questions

Marks

I: general

50

100

II: subject

100

200

Total

150

300

Both papers form one three-hour computer-based test without a break. Each correct answer earns two marks. There is no negative marking; unanswered questions receive zero.

  • Paper I: teaching aptitude, research aptitude, comprehension, communication, mathematical reasoning and aptitude, logical reasoning, data interpretation, ICT, people/development/environment and the higher-education system.

  • Paper II: your chosen subject’s official syllabus. Map every unit before buying books or a course.

  • Previous papers: solve subject-specific papers in timed conditions, then check final answer keys. Keep a unit-wise error list for concepts, calculations and misunderstood questions.

Cutoffs: qualifying marks are not the final selection cutoff

To be considered, candidates must appear in both papers and obtain at least 40% aggregate for General/General-EWS or 35% for the specified reserved categories. Crossing this minimum does not itself secure NET or JRF. Actual cutoffs depend on subject, category and qualification outcome.

These examples are June 2026 Unreserved cutoffs out of 300, not predictions for 2027. AP means Assistant Professor eligibility.

Subject

JRF

AP

PhD
only

Economics

224

196

170

Political
Science

222

196

170

Use the matching row in the official 84-subject cutoff PDF. For June 2026 English, Commerce and Sociology, use the separately published three-subject re-examination cutoff PDF.

Four online coaching options for UGC NET

Coaching is optional. Choose support for your actual subject and weakest units, rather than a general government-exam bundle. These providers publish NET-specific online offerings; the listed teachers and experience are provider-described.

Unacademy

  • Course fit: its current catalogue separates Paper I-only and Paper I + subject batches. Rambaan 5.0 targets December 2026 Commerce + Paper I, with Hinglish classes, English/Hindi notes and doubt sessions.

  • Abhishek Kaushik - Experience: 8+ years teaching/mentoring competitive-exam aspirants. Role: Paper I.

  • Raghav Wadhwa - Experience: numerical tenure is not stated on the batch page. Subject: Commerce.

  • Student fit: useful when you want a subject batch alongside Paper I. Compare its actual timetable with your college or work hours.

JRFAdda

  • Course fit: ATOM December 2026 Paper I lists live/recorded learning, notes, PYQs and 12-month access from enrolment. It is a Paper I product; select a separate matching Paper II course when needed.

  • Aditi Mam - Experience: individual teaching tenure is not stated on the course listing. Subject: Paper I.

  • Student fit: compare its language variants and Paper I scope if that paper is your main weakness.

Testbook

  • Course fit: its NET SuperCoaching pages offer Paper I/subject learning, live classes, revision, PYQs and mocks. A test-pass subscription and a taught course are different purchases.

  • Heena Dawar - Experience: its Paper I faculty page reports more than nine years. Subject/role: Education and NET faculty.

  • Student fit: useful to compare when you need repeated practice and explanations. Inspect your chosen subject’s teacher and mock coverage before selecting a package.

Adda247

  • Course fit: its published bilingual Paper I video course covers the common paper through subject-wise videos. Compare recorded learning with a live NET batch if you need scheduled doubt support.

  • Anshika Ma’am - Experience: 3+ years on the published roster. Subjects: teaching aptitude, communication, people/development/environment and higher education.

  • Neeraj Sir - Experience: 7+ years on the published roster. Subject: ICT.

  • Student fit: consider recorded study if you need flexible hours. Confirm the selected product’s current teachers and content coverage.

Explore Adda247’s Gurugram profile on AcademyCheck and compare the selected online NET course separately. For a wider shortlist, read our UGC NET coaching options guide and compare the same Paper II subject and course scope.

How to choose a test series and build a study plan

  • Choose mocks with 50 Paper I and 100 subject questions, a combined three-hour timer and the correct marking scheme.

  • Inspect a sample explanation and unit-wise analysis. More tests are useful only if you review your errors.

  • Check subject, language, sectional/full-paper split, PYQ coverage, access expiry and the complete payable price.

  • For online teaching, watch a normal lesson, test the doubt process and confirm whether access covers your intended attempt.

Give Paper II the larger share of your study time because it carries 200 of 300 marks. Practise Paper I regularly, revise one subject unit at a time and take a weekly combined mock. Use the error analysis to set the following week’s priorities.

Application, admit card and certificate checklist

  1. Open the official NTA site, read the attempt’s bulletin and choose the correct qualification outcome/subject.

  2. Prepare degree/marks, identity and applicable category/disability evidence. Use your own email and mobile number.

  3. Upload the required photograph/signature, review the form, pay and save the confirmation page. June 2026 reference fees were ₹1,150 General, ₹600 General-EWS/OBC-NCL and ₹325 SC/ST/PwD/PwBD/third gender, plus applicable payment charges.

  4. Download the actual admit card; a city-intimation slip does not replace it. Follow its centre, reporting and identity-document instructions.

  5. After results, retain the scorecard and certificate. For PhD applications, check the university’s interview procedure and the validity of your result category.

Frequently asked questions

Does clearing NET automatically give me JRF?

No. Your result must qualify you for JRF. Assistant Professor/PhD eligibility without JRF does not carry a JRF award.

Can a four-year graduate become an Assistant Professor through this route?

The four-year Bachelor’s route in the latest bulletin permits JRF/PhD eligibility, not Assistant Professor eligibility on that qualification alone.

Is Paper I enough to qualify?

No. You must appear in both papers; Paper II contributes 200 of the total 300 marks.

Are NET and CTET the same?

No. UGC NET concerns higher-education/research eligibility. Read our CTET guide for the separate school-teaching eligibility route.

Does 40% guarantee qualification?

No. It is the General/General-EWS aggregate minimum for consideration. The subject/category/outcome cutoff determines qualification.

Summary and what next?

Choose your correct subject and qualification route, cover both papers and compare mocks against the actual examination pattern. June 2026 candidates should also download their available certificates. Begin with one previous paper and use your weakest units to decide whether self-study, a test series or a taught course will help. AcademyCheck Student Support: 01169270926. Institutes can send factual corrections with the article link to WhatsApp 8287604941. Best wishes for your NET and research journey!

Enjoyed this story?

Share it with your fellow students and colleagues.

R

Written By

Runal Naik

Runal Naik is an Education Research Writer at AcademyCheck with degrees in Mechanical Engineering, Economics, and Law. He works as a Consultant at Deloitte and previously worked at Morningstar. He has also prepared for competitive examinations including UPSC and CDS, and reached the final interview stage of the SEBI. At AcademyCheck, he applies his research and analytical experience to create reliable, student-focused education content.